top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKG

America's Sailing Capital - Annapolis

Updated: Sep 30, 2018




 

When I first heard that I was going to Annapolis for a work meeting, I was excited as I didn't know much about Maryland's capital ...even my mom was confused on why I was going to Minnesota ( Minneapolis ;) )


The bay was full of sail boats on a random Wednesday afternoon!

Sitting on the Chesapeake Bay and and on the mouth of the Servern River, this small U.S. State Capital is full of history, bricks and sail boats! Annapolis is right about of Washington D.C. and would make a great add on a trip to the U.S. Capital, just make sure you leave enough room for all the amazing crab cakes and seafood that this town has to offer.


I highly recommend renting a sail boat for a couple of hours or day while in town and cruise around the Bay. Annapolis has a hand full of Marina's and boats to chose from , depending on your party size and sailing desires. Our group of 14 took out the majestic, Liberte ( https://www.theliberte.com ) for a 3 hour sail, history of the area and some stunning views! After our tour, we weren't done with the views so we headed to Pusser's Caribbean Grille, for magnificent sunset views, live music, oyster shooters and crab tip. If your boat is on the smaller size, you can dock it right at the bar !


The. U.S. Naval Academy also calls Annapolis home ; if your time your visit right, you can catch a game ( football OR lacrosse ) at the Navy- Marine Corps Memorial Stadium.


Not only am I a foodie, I am also seafood obsessed. What a great obsession to have in a town full of fresh seafood and restaurants eager to serve you! Below are some of my recommendations for a great bite, Yumm!


Dock's Street Bar & Grille - located by the water in the middle of cobblestone central, these crab cakes and crab dip will blow your mind! Don't let the dive by like atmosphere deter you from having some of the best crab cakes, I have ever tasted!

Views from the patio at the Severn Inn

Severn Inn - right on the foot of Severn River, weather permitting, Opt in for the outdoor seating to catch the sunset and enjoy the water views. The appetizers were amazing, the crab dip (again) mouthwatering....the scallops, I wasn't crazy about as mine were overcooked but I heard great feedback on the rest of the dishes.


Carpaccio Tuscan Kitchen - right across from our hotel ( the Westin) , you would think that we were in Little Italy! I went with the nightly special, Lobster stuffed ravioli and man did I hit the jackpot! The desert definitely sealed the deal as I indulged in the flowerless chocolate cake with a glass of milk- SO delish!


Miscellaneous tips

- I flew into Reagan National Airport, which is about an hour drive and $60 Uber, yet $100 Cab ( lesson learned!! ) You can also fly / take the train into BWI for a quick/ cheap 15-20 min drive!

- We stayed at the Westin Annapolis ; good location, meeting space and healthy selection of food items!


Grab a U.S. History book and head over this mid 1600's gem for amazing food, smooth sailing and a look back in time!


Until next time, Annapolis...






47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page